The One True Enemy of Writing Is Packing

I really, really wanted to write a blog post before I headed out tomorrow morning, but did you know that packing is really tiring?So I’ll just offer some thoughts:

  1. If you’re one of those people who has talked to me and thought,

“Hey, I have to make small talk with Jonathan. He has a trip coming up, so I should probably just ask about that. Should I ask him if he’s excited? No, wait, everyone he’s talked to for the past three months has probably asked him that question, so maybe he could use a break. Plus, I don’t really care that much, anyway.”

thank you for making the world a better place, and for proving that restraint is a sublime quality. As for my general thoughts about excitement before travel (if you actually do care that much) I’ll refer you to the inaugural post of my first blog.

  1. This is the first New Year’s that I’ve actually enjoyed hearing the song “Auld Lang Syne.” I owe my rediscovery of the song to one of my favorite podcasts, RISK!, which included a great version of the song by Andrew Bird in one of its holiday episodes. I went to a live showing of Swamp Radio, this Jacksonville-themed variety show, with my parents last night, and the show closed with a bluesy rendition of “Auld Lang Syne” that was also really moving. As we left, I looked up the tune on Wikipedia and found that it’s pretty well-known throughout the old British Commonwealth. I won’t be in Malaysia for New Year’s 2017, but if I were, I wonder if I’d hear the tune there. And if I did, would I think of it more of a great, worldwide phenomenon or a terrible vestige of colonialism?
  1. In spite of my solitary nature here in Jacksonville, I think that when the plane takes off tomorrow, I’m kind of going to miss it here. I was just starting to make some friends and learn where the good bars are. I still don’t think I’ll come back to Jacksonville long-term, and it’s going to be hard to maintain these friendships, but it is nice to know that I’ll have a better understanding of the city where I grew up for when I visit the family in the future. Should old acquaintance be forgot…
  1. I have space in my luggage for the first time in, well, ever. I don’t know if I’m growing up, underpacking, or just benefitting from being able to take two checked bags this time. It’s probably a mix of the three.

That’s all I got. Next stop, Kuala Lumpur!

Leave a Reply

